Fugazi (Seven Songs)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £22.99
  • Unavailable

Product Info

Limited LP : Red Vinyl

More Info

Fugazi is an American rock band that formed in Washington, D.C. in 1987. The band consists of guitarists and vocalists Ian MacKaye and Guy Picciotto, bassist Joe Lally and drummer Brendan Canty.

Fugazi are noted for their unique sound, blending elements of dub/reggae with high energy rock and punk/hardcore-styled guitars, as well as for their approach to the business of music, which found success while avoiding all contact with the corporate music industry. The band, and others from the punk and hardcore scene leading up to the early 1990s, were among the early adopters of what grew to be known as the DIY ethic; self-promotion, self-pressed records and, self-booked live tours, an ethic that can be traced back to the early days of mid-70's punk rock

Fugazi embarked on its first tour in January 1988. In June 1988 the band recorded its debut EP Fugazi with producer Ted Niceley and producer/engineer Don Zientara (who would become a long-time collaborator), and shortly afterwards embarked on an arduous tour of Europe.

At the tour's conclusion in December, the band recorded songs for its intended debut album. However, the band was spent from touring and decided that the resulting sessions were unsatisfactory. The track list was cut down to an EP and released as Margin Walker the following year. Both EPs were eventually combined into the 13 Songs release in late 1989. Upon the band's return from Europe, Picciotto, unsatisfied with singing, began playing guitar too.


A1 Waiting Room
A2 Bulldog Front
A3 Bad Mouth
A4 Burning
B1 Give Me The Cure
B2 Suggestion
B3 Glue Man