Felt Mountain (2022 Reissue)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £26.99
  • In Stock Available to buy

Product Info

Limited LP : Gold Vinyl

More Info

Though her collaborations with Tricky, Orbital, and Add N To X focused on the sheer beauty and power of her singing, on her debut album Felt Mountain Allison Goldfrapp also explores more straightforward styles. Together with composer/multi-instrumentalist Will Gregory, Goldfrapp wraps her unearthly voice around songs that borrow from '60s pop, cabaret, folk, and electronica without sounding derivative or unfocused.

From the sci-fi/spy film hybrids "Human" and "Lovely Head" to the title track's icy purity, the duo strikes a wide variety of poses, giving Felt Mountain a stylised, theatrical feel that never veers into campiness. Though longtime fans of Goldfrapp's voice may wish for more the exuberant, intoxicating side of her sound, lovelorn ballads like "Pilots," "Deer Stop," and "Horse's Tears" prove that she is equally able at carrying -- and writing -- more traditional tunes. A strange and beautiful mix of the romantic, eerie, and world-weary, Felt Mountain is one of 2000's most impressive debuts.


Lovely Head 3:49
Paper Bag 4:05
Human 4:36
Pilots 4:29
Deer Stop 4:06
Felt Mountain 4:17
Oompa Radar 4:42
Utopia 4:18
Horse Tears 5:10