Sharon Van Etten

Epic Ten

1 review

  • Sale
  • Regular price £32.99
  • In Stock In Stock

Product Info

More Info

Reissue of critically acclaimed artist's second album with bonus disc of covers by Lucinda Williams, Fiona Apple, Courtney Barnett, IDLES, Shamir, and more.

Sharon Van Etten’s career since the release of her second album, 2010’s epic is well-known; critically lauded albums, films, and television shows have continually displayed her expanding artistry. Upon its release, epic laid a romantic melancholy over the gravel and dirt of heartbreak without one honest thought or feeling spared. Her songs covered betrayal, obsession, egotism, and all the other emotions we dislike in others and recognize in ourselves. Van Etten's grounded and clenched vocals conveyed a sense of hope--the notion that beauty can arise from the worst of circumstances. To celebrate the 10th anniversary of this special album’s release, and to acknowledge the convergence of Van Etten’s present and past work, she asked fellow artists she admired to participate in an expanded reissue, where each artist would cover one different song from epic in their own style. Some are musicians Van Etten herself admired in her early days (Fiona Apple, Lucinda Williams, and Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon of Big Red Machine), some are peers (Courtney Barnett, IDLES), and others are part of a younger generation of innovators (Shamir, St. Panther). What they all share is embodied by epic--a musician frankly communicating themself through the power of music. The resulting epic Ten is a double LP featuring the original album plus the new album of epic covers and reimagined artwork.

“epic represents a crossroads for me as an artist. Going from intern to artist at Ba Da Bing, from solo folk singer to playing with a band for the first time and beginning to play shows on tour where people showed up. I am in awe of the artists who wanted to participate in celebrating my anniversary and reissue, from young inspiring musicians, to artists who took me under their wing, who I met on tour, and to artists I’ve looked up to since I was a teenager. Each one of these artists continue to influence my writing and provide a sense of camaraderie during this new era of sharing music.” -- Sharon Van Etten


1. A Crime
2. Peace Signs
3. Save Yourself
4. DsharpG
5. Don't Do It
6. One Day
7. Love More

1. A Crime (Big Red Machine)
2. Peace Signs (IDLES)
3. Save Yourself (Lucinda Williams)
4. DsharpG (Shamir)
5. Don't Do It
(Courtney Barnett ft. Vagabon)
6. One Day (St Panther)
7. Love More (Fiona Apple)



Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 1 Reviews
Write a Review Ask a Question
  • Reviews
  • Questions

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
Richard P.
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I recommend this product
Classic revisited twice

Sharon’s breakthrough remastered on its 10th anniversary and sounding just as fresh as and retaining the impact of the original. I saw her livestream launching the reissue which whetted the appetite. The second element of the package is the songs from the album reimagined by a varied group of artists. Finally there is a moving sleeve appreciation essay from Adrianne Lenker. So much more than a lot of anniversary reissues.