Electribe 101

Electribal Memories

  • Sale
  • Regular price $39.00
  • Pre Order Pre Order

More Info

Formed when Hamburg-born / London-based, sometimes S’ Express member Billie Ray Martin hooked up with four musician / producers from Birmingham, Electribe 101 instantly hit upon a sound heavily influenced by the de rigueur deep house sounds of Chicago and Detroit but with a distinctive European twist. With Billie Ray up front, with a voice like ice on fire and looking as if she’d stepped forward in time from a circa-1966 Mary Quant catwalk, the band were instantly snapped up by Mercury Records, and taken under the wing of Pet Shop Boys manager Tom Watkins.

The band released five singles in the UK, and all featured on their debut album ‘Electribal Memories’ – ‘Tell Me When The Fever Ended’, ‘Talking With Myself’, ‘You’re Walking’, ‘Lipstick On My Lover’ and an incredible cover of Odyssey’s deep soul classic ‘Inside Out’. When the album arrived in 1990, it was an instant hit with critics – immaculately produced, poised, luxurious and soulful, it was difficult to believe it was a debut record at all.

After ‘Electribal Memories’, Electribe 101 called it a day. Since then, the album’s reputation has grown in stature and many of its’ singles’ attendant remixes have become sought-after rarities. The cultural earthquake prompted by the late-1980s arrival on these shores of house, acid and rave prompted many a legendary club night and a generation of superstar DJ / producers. While there were a myriad of great club tracks produced in that heady period between 1988-1991, classic albums from the scene were rather more of a rarity. One towering exception was the debut by Electribe 101...

The stunning 4CD extended version in deluxe packaging features crucial remixes, extended versions, radio edits and original band demos. The deluxe was compiled by club culture historian Bill Brewster. Both formats come with new sleeve notes by Billie Ray Martin, a rapturous essay by Pete Paphides and original photography from the era.


LP (Half-Speed Master)

1. Talking With Myself
2. Lipstick On My Lover
3. You’re Walking (Peeping Tom Mix)
4. Inside Out
5. Diamond Dove
6. Heading For The Night
7. Tell Me When The Fever Ended
8. Talking 2


1. Talking With Myself Original Band 12" Version (7:02)
2. Lipstick On My Lover (6:22)
3. You're Walking (Peeping Tom Mix) (6:03)
4. Inside Out (6:00)
5. Diamond Dove (7:51)
6. Heading For The Night (4:09)
7. Tell Me When The Fever Ended (Full Length Version) (7.06)
8. Talking With Myself (Lambada Version) (7:06)
9. Electribal Memories (10:36)
10. Tell Me When The Fever Ended (7") (3.55)
11. Talking With Myself (Frankie Knuckles 7” Mix) (3.38)
12. You're Walking (Peeping Tom 7" Mix) (3.55)
13. Inside Out (Pop Mix) (4.14)

1. Talking With Myself (8-Track Demo) (7:00)
2. The Spell (8-track demo) (4:38)
3. Talking With Myself (Deep Dream Mix) (8:07)
4. Lipstick On My Lover (1989 12” Mix) (8:30)
5. Diamond Dove (1989 12” 12" Mix) (7:36)
6. Tell Me When the Fever Ended (12”) (7:25)
7. Talking With Myself (Frankie Knuckles 12-inch Mix) (6:56)
8. You’re Walking (Corporate Def Mix) (8:18)
9. Inside Out (Anti-Pop Mix) (7:51)
10. Heading For The Night (Night Over Europe) (8:20)

1. Talking with Myself (Opium Mix) (6:56)
2. Tell Me When The Fever Ended (Larry Heard After Dark Mix) (8:18)
3. You’re Walking (Azmafez Mix) (5:03)
4. Heading For The Night (Classic Club Mix) (6:40)
5. Talking With Myself (Jazzy Piano Mix) (7:11)
6. You’re Walking (Ambient Groove Mix) (6:06)
7. Talking With Myself (Brixton Club Mix Master) (8.34)
8. Mummy I’m Sick, I’m Underwater (4:19)
9. Talking With Myself (Larry Heard After Dark Dub) (6:43)
10. You're Walking (Warped Truth Mix) (8:16)
11. Talking With Myself (Next Big Thing Mix) (7:21)

1. Talking With Myself (Frankie Knuckles Edit) (4:13)
2. Diamond Dove (7'')
3. Lipstick On My Lover (7'')
4. Talking With Myself (Larry Heard After Dark Mix) (7:16)
5. Heading For The Night (Pianoppella) (4:27)
6. Inside Out (MCM Mix) (6:39)
7. Talking With Myself (Frankie’s Lovely Dub) (7:05)
8. Tell Me When the Fever Ended (Yankee Mix) (5:17)
9. Talking With Myself (American Promo Anabolic Steroid Mix) (6:53)
10. Tell Me When the Fever Ended (Raggamix) (5:07)
11. Inside Out (Mantronix Mix 2) (6:19)
12. You’re Walking (Hip Hop Mix) (6:26)
13. Non-Doctor (Demo) (4:46)
14. That’s How Strong My Love Is (Demo) (6:58)