Don't Let Get You Down

  • Sale
  • $17.00
  • Regular price $32.00
  • In Stock In Stock

More Info

2nd album from Wajatta, a collaboration between Austrian-born American electronic producer John Tejada and German-born American comedian/musician Reggie Watts. Exploring the intersection between influences and innovation, the two describe Wajatta's music as “electronic dance music with its roots in Detroit techno, Chicago house, '70s funk and New York hip hop.” It’s a sound that is both familiar and wholly original — and, like all great dance music, ultimately life-affirming, as Watts vocalizes, sometimes without words, the joyful energy of his and Tejada’s funky, shape-shifting productions. “That’s the great thing about working with John,” Watts says with an infectious grin. “He’s so steeped in the history of this music. I just pick up on that and run with it.”
Wajatta builds most tracks from scratch, bouncing ideas off one another from initial spark to finished product. It’s all done face-to-face: “We never just share files,” Tejada notes. They also try to keep their sessions as spontaneous as possible, in a never-ending quest to, as Watts puts it, “capture the freshness.” As a result, the 11 tracks on “Don’t Let Get You Down” crackle with the energy of fresh ideas captured at the moment of inspiration. It’s electronic music made organically, from two masters at the top of their respective games.

1. Renegades
2. Little Man
3. Don’t Let Get You Down
4. Realize
5. Tonight
6. 138
7. January
8. Marmite
9. Depth Has a Focus
10. Another Sun
11. All I Need Is You