The Rolling Stones

Beggars Banquet (50th Anniversary Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £39.99
  • Unavailable

Product Info

LP + 12" + 7": Remastered LP on 180g vinyl & Sympathy for the Devil 12" with etched B side & bonus flexidisc 7" feat. 1968 Mick Jagger interview 

More Info

Beggars Banquet is a studio album by English rock band the Rolling Stones. It was released in December 1968 by Decca Records in the United Kingdom and London Records in the United States; it is the band's seventh British and ninth American studio album. The recording marked a change in direction for the band following the psychedelic pop of their previous two albums, Between the Buttons and Their Satanic Majesties Request. Styles such as roots rock and a return to the blues rock sound that had marked early Stones recordings dominate the record, and the album is among the most instrumentally experimental of the band's career, as they infuse Latin beats and instruments like the claves alongside South Asian sounds from the tanpura, tabla and shehnai and African-influenced conga rhythms. Its release marks the beginning of the most critically acclaimed period of the Rolling Stones' career.

Brian Jones, the band's founder and early leader, had become increasingly unreliable in the studio due to his drug use, and it was the last Rolling Stones album to be released during his lifetime, though he also contributed to two songs on their next album Let It Bleed, which was released after his death. Nearly all rhythm and lead guitar parts were recorded by Keith Richards, the band's other guitarist and primary songwriting partner of the band's lead singer Mick Jagger; together the two wrote all but one of the tracks on the album. Rounding out the instrumentation were bassist Bill Wyman and drummer Charlie Watts, though all members contributed on a variety of instruments. As with most albums of the period, frequent collaborator Nicky Hopkins played piano on many of the tracks. The album was the first Rolling Stones album produced by Jimmy Miller, whose production work formed a key aspect of the Rolling Stones sound throughout the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Beggars Banquet was a top-ten album in many markets, including the US (number 5) and their native UK (number 3), and has frequently been ranked highly on many retrospective "great albums" lists. While the album lacked a "hit single" at the time of its release, songs such as "Sympathy for the Devil" (number 9 UK, number 55 US) and "Street Fighting Man" (number 48 US, number 21 UK on the 1971 re-release) became rock radio staples for decades to come.



A1 Sympathy For The Devil
A2 No Expectations
A3 Dear Doctor
A4 Parachute Woman
A5 Jig-Saw Puzzle
B1 Street Fighting Man
B2 Prodigal Son
B3 Stray Cat Blues
B4 Factory Girl
B5 Salt Of The Earth


Sympathy For The Devil

Hello! This Is Mick Jagger - London to Tokyo April 17th, 1968 interview