Section 25

Always Now (Deluxe Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $91.00
  • Available to buy

Product Info

5LP : The first 1000 copies of the box set are pressed on coloured vinyl: disc 1 (black); disc 2 (clear); disc 3 (yellow); disc 4 (red); disc 5 (silver).

More Info
5 LP expanded deluxe box set version of the debut album from Manchester's Section 25, originally released in 1981.

Produced by Martin Hannett, apparently with some assistance from Ian Curtis of Joy Division before his untimely demise.

The 16 page booklet features unseen images by noted photographer Philippe Carly and texts by founder members Larry and Vin Cassidy. Also included is the first ever interview with guitarist Paul Wiggin, whose sudden departure in late 1981 saw Tony Wilson try (and fail) to recruit pre-Smiths teenager Johnny Marr as replacement.
Recorded as a trio at Pink Floyd’s Britannia Row studio in London in January 1981, Always Now combined austere post-punk rhythm and noise with elements of Can, Krautrock and modern psychedelia.
Disc 2 gathers together several non-album singles from 1980 and 1981, including "Charnel Ground", "Je Veux Ton Amour" and debut EP "Girls Don’t Count" – the latter produced by mentors Rob Gretton and Ian Curtis.
Disc 3 offers a complete live show professionally recorded at Groningen (Netherlands) on 26 October 1980, as part of a Factory package tour.
Disc 4 is part-improvised second studio album "The Key of Dreams", recorded and produced by the band themselves a few months after "Always Now", and released by Factory Benelux in June 1982.
Disc 5 consists of further experimental material recorded in 1981 and self-released on a cassette called "Illuminus Illumina". This final disc closes with an extended (and previously unreleased) live encore jam recorded with all four members of New Order at Reading University on 8 May 1981.

Disc 1

A1. Friendly Fires

A2. Dirty Disco

A3. C.P.

A4. Loose Talk (Costs Lives)

A5. Inside Out
A6. Melt Close

B1. Hit

B2. Babies in the Bardo

B3. Be Brave

B4. New Horizon
Disc 2:
A1. Knew Noise

A2. Up To You

A3. Girls Don’t Count

A4. After Image

A5. Human Puppets
B1. Charnel Ground

B2. Haunted

B3. Je Veux Ton Amour

B4. One True Path
Disc 3:
A1. Loose Talk (Costs Lives) (live)

A2. Human Puppets (live)

A3. Knew Noise (live)

A4. Friendly Fires (live)
A5. Girls Don’t Count (live)

B1. New Horizon (live)

B2. Haunted (live)

B3. You’re On Your Own (live)

B4. One Step Backward (live)
Disc 4:
A1. Always Now

A2. Visitation

A3. Regions

A4. The Wheel

A5. No Abiding Place

A6. Once Before

B1. There Was a Time

B2. Wretch

B3. Sutra
Disc 5:
A1. Fallen Monument

A2. Are You There?

A3. Virtually Everything

A4. Tape Loop

A5. Subferior

A6. In the Garden of Eden

A7. Cry

B1. Red Voice

B2. Floating

B3. Reading Uni Jam with New Order 1981