• Sale
  • Regular price £9.99
  • Unavailable Available to buy

More Info

‘@0’ comprises a collection of ambient tracks curated and sequenced by Coldcut (on LP and Digital) and mixed by both Coldcut and Mixmaster Morris (on CD), bringing together some of the pioneers of ambient music alongside current artists spearheading the genre. Featuring an incredible lineup of new ambient and classical recordings, all released for the first time as part of the ‘@0’ compilation with music from: Ryuichi Sakamoto, Suzanne Ciani, Steve Roach, Juliana Barwick, Imogen Heap—whose ‘The Happy Song’ is remixed by Coldcut—A Winged Victory for the Sullen, Laraaji, Sigur Rós—with close collaborator of the band Paul Corley providing a ‘Liminal’ re-work of ‘Rembihnútur’—Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Helena Hauff, Skee Mask, Daniel Pemberton & FSOL, James Heather, Specimens, Nailah Hunter, Rovo & System 7, Ned Scott (The Egg), Noodreem, Mira Calix, Obay Alsharani, David Wenngren, ill-esha, Yak Herder, NDiPA X Flex Machina, Double Cushion, Irresistible Force, FRKTL, ANNA and Coldcut themselves.

Speaking with Matt Black (one half of Coldcut) on the project and its creation he explains that: “‘@0’ refers to that liminal state experienced many times where my mental and emotional stability was not solid and it felt like teetering on a zero axis about to fall into depression, or more rarely, mania. I found that ambient music, by making no psychic demands, often opened some space and with its soft fascination, subtly raised the energy, helping to avoid that downward spiral and navigate slowly up and out. @0 is a balance point.” 

Several pairs of tracks from the compilation will be released over the coming weeks, partnering a more established name in the world of ambient music alongside a relative newcomer. Out today for ‘EP1’, modular synthesis pioneer Suzanne Ciani’s “Morning Spring” arrives alongside Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith’s “Mt Baker”, named after the glacier-covered volcano found in the Cascade Mountain range in Washington. This will be followed by ‘EP2’ featuring “The Drift Home” by seminal American ambient composer Steve Roach which will be released alongside “Beethoven 250” an ambient soundscape from acclaimed duo A Winged Victory for the Sullen. The final release, ‘EP3’ will come from legendary Japanese composer Ryuichi Sakamoto, with a new live-recording of his 1999 track “Aqua”, originally performed as part of his ‘Playing the Piano for the Isolated’, and James Heather with a new version of “And She Came Home”, with piano re-recorded on a Bosendorfer Grand and additional strings. The final track on the digital release is a reworking of Coldcut and Irresistible Force’s classic 90’s ambient track “Autumn Leaves”.


Side A

  1. Julianna Barwick - Star Ray 
  2. Sigur Rós - Rembihnútur (Liminal re-work by Paul Corley) 
  3. A Winged Victory for the Sullen - Beethoven 250 
  4. Laraaji - Illusion of Time

Side B

  1. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith - Mt Baker
  2. Ryuichi Sakamoto - Aqua (from Playing Piano for the Isolated)
  3. James Heather - And She Came Home (Strings Version)
  4. Suzanne Ciani - Morning Spring
  5. Nailah Hunter - Sadko

Side C

  1. Helena Hauff - Thalassa
  2. Mira Calix - danaïdes
  3. Daniel Pemberton & FSOL - Behind the Eyes
  4. Skee Mask - CG Drip

Side D

  1. Coldcut - The Fire Burns Out
  2. Obay Alsharani - Dream Within a Dream
  3. David Wenngren - Pianoise
  4. Steve Roach - The Drift Home