Brandy Clark

Your Life Is A Record

  • Sale
  • Regular price £17.99
  • Available to buy

More Info
Few artists understand the human condition like 6-time Grammy nominee Brandy Clark. Working again with acclaimed producer Jay Joyce, Your Life is a Record takes her unerring eye for detail and a genre-melting sense of melody to examine personal truths, revelations and emancipations with wit, grace and compassion. Working with just four acoustic-based musicians, intimacy was the goal. Memphis strings and horns, guest appearances from Randy Newman (“Bigger Boat”) and guitarist John Osborne color in the sketches – creating a depth to what is easily Clark’s most revelatory record yet.

Before breaking through as a solo artist with 2013’s award-winning 12 Stories, Brandy Clark had long been considered one of Nashville’s most esteemed songwriters. She penned hits for Reba McEntire and Sheryl Crow, and is the woman behind recent chart-topping smashes like The Band Perry’s “Better Dig Two,” Miranda Lambert’s “Mama’s Broken Heart,” and Kacey Musgraves’ CMA Song of the Year winner “Follow Your Arrow.”

When Clark decided it was time to step in front of the microphone herself, the self-described “small passion project” that resulted, 12 Stories, went on to earn her multiple CMA and Grammy nominations, top myriad “Best Albums of the year” lists, and land her onstage with Dwight Yoakam at the 2015 Grammy Awards, in recognition of her nomination in the all-genre Best New Artist category. Now Clark is back with the forthcoming Big Day in a Small Town, produced by Jay Joyce, the man behind the rocked-up country sound of artists like Little Big Town and Eric Church.

01I'll Be the Sad Song
02 Long Walk
03 Love is a Fire
04 Pawn Shop
05 Who You Thought I Was
06 Apologies
07 Bigger Boat (feat. Randy Newman)
08 Bad Car
09 Who Broke Whose Heart
10 Can We Be Strangers
11 The Past is the Past