Year Of The Witch

  • Sale
  • Regular price £17.99
  • Available to buy

More Info
"Year Of The Witch" was born in transit. In the interest of self-sufficiency, HXXS - aka Jeannie Colleene and Gavin Neves- initially recorded their debut album during a six month tour spent living out of their van. When inspiration struck (and it did so often), they’d record in parking lots, hotel rooms, laundromats— anywhere they happened to pull over.
What emerged from these pit stops, strangely enough, was an album about moving forward.
As with much of the art created in the wake of the 2016 presidential election, "Year Of The Witch" sizzles with the fresh sting of political anguish. Instead of firing off platitudes about a nation divided, however, Neves and Colleene choose to look inward at how this divide affects familial relationships.

Back in 2017, after their initial roadside recordings were complete, the hard drive containing them was stolen. HXXS were forced to re-record the entire LP on a time crunch, largely from memory. But necessity bred invention, and this loss created a sense of sonic urgency that only strengthens the tracks. The result is a sonic roadmap to resilience:
electronic noise punk for the fake news generation. Built on haunting loops and frantic, insistent vocals, YOTW
navigates uneasiness with razor-sharp precision. There is anger, to be sure, but it’s never without purpose.
1. Last Days Of Magic
2. Double Down
3. Hail Mary
4. Learner
5. Up South
6. No Price On That Power
7. This Loss Of Blood Has Me Feeling Some Type Of Way
8. Their Satanic Majesty’s 3rd Request (Feat. Kyp Malone)
9. Hard To Tell
10. Year Of The Knife
11. Ful Health
12. Build A Fire