Harold Land

Westward Bound!

  • Sale
  • Regular price £11.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

Westward Bound! contains previously unissued live recordings of unsung tenor saxophone hero Harold Land from The Penthouse in Seattle from 1962, 1964 and 1965 with stellar musicians including Hampton Hawes, Carmell Jones, Buddy Montgomery and Philly Joe Jones.

Released in partnership with the Harold Land Estate, the remastered audio was captured from direct transfers of the original Penthouse’s tape reels. Westward Bound! includes an extensive booklet with rare photos; essays by jazz historian Michael Cuscuna, coproducers Zev Feldman and Cory Weeds, and pianist Eric Reed; plus interviews with tenor saxophone giant Joe Lovano and the legendary saxophonist Sonny Rollins.


Vendetta / Beep Durple / Happily Dancing / Deep Harmonies Falling / My Romance / Triplin’ The Groove / Autumn Leaves / Who Can I Turn To / Beauty / Blue N’ Boogie