Roy Ayers

Virgin Ubiquity II - Unreleased Recordings 1976 - 1981

  • Released: 27/03/2020
  • Label: BBE
  • Genre: FunkJazz

  • Sale
  • Regular price £24.99
  • Unavailable Unavailable

More Info

Repress of the classic Roy Ayers albums ‘Virgin Ubiquity’ 1 and 2 with brand new sleeve notes written by Sean P. The music on 'Virgin Ubiquity' was selected and mixed down from previously unreleased multi-tracks recorded between 1976 & 1981, which Roy had in storage. It's all unmistakably Ayers, but is diverse and fresh enough to be more than a mere adjunct to one of his most productive and popular periods - testament to his and his musicians' creative abilities, as much of most revered Ayers output stems from this time. These discoveries take their place beside some illustrious company in a timeline bookended by 'Everybody Loves The Sunshine' and 'Africa, Center Of The World', several solo and Ubiquity albums, collaborations with Wayne Henderson & Fela Kuti, as well as guesting on LPs by Buster Williams and Herbie Mann. Out of print on vinyl and CD for over a decade now, BBE is delighted to re-present these groundbreaking Roy Ayers titles, neatly coinciding with the 45th anniversary of his classic album ‘Mystic Voyage’ and a UK tour to commemorate it during April 2020.


Disc: 1
1. Holiday
2. Funk in the Hole
3. Liquid Love
4. I Am Your Mind (Part 2)
Disc: 2
1. Third Time
2. I Like the Way You Do It to Me
3. Tarzan
4. Come To Me
Disc: 3
1. Touch Of Class
2. Kwajilori
3. Wide Open
4. Release Yourself
5. Sunshine (Demo)