• Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Available to buy Available to buy In Stock

More Info
First solo album in 35 years from Cabaret Voltaire co-founder and frontman Stephen Mallinder.

While steering Cabaret Voltaire through the 1980’s, Mallinder was already busy piecing together his first solo album
entitled “Pow Wow”, which would help define Mallinder’s interest in the more leftfield electro sounds shaping England at the time. It was this diverse and abstract hybrid that helped inspire generations of artists and musicians through steeping raw machine funk within the whimsical and absurdist ideology.
Since the release of “Pow Wow” in 1982, Mallinder continued his pioneering work with Cabaret Voltaire, as well as
recording and touring with his electro projects Wrangler, Creep Show, Hey Rube, Kula, and Cobby & Mallinder. In
addition to his non stop schedule in electronic music, his professional life as a journalist, broadcaster, producer and
now a professor of Digital Music & Sound Art at the University of Brighton, has lead Mallinder to a unique point in his
career. Most in his position would be caught up in rosy retrospection, but Mallinder himself says, “There’s too much
digital finger licking right now; every thought and desire at the turn of a dial... well a click of the mouse. And there’s a
giddy, false nostalgia about the analogue past. Sorry to burst your bubble but the truth of history is more mundane:
practical, pragmatic..."Um Dada" is about ‘play’ cut and paste, lost words, twisted presets, voice collage, simple sounds
things that have been lost to technology’s current determinism. Let the machines talk to each other, let them
dance .. they lead, we follow.”
1. Working (You Are)
2. Prefix Repeat Rewind
3. It’s Not Me
4. Um Dada
5. Satellite
6. Colour
7. Flashback

8. Robber*
9. Hollow*