Ronnie Boykins

The Will Come, Is Now

  • Sale
  • Regular price £21.99
  • Unavailable

Product Info

Limited LP : 180g Black Vinyl

More Info

Legendary Sun Ra bassist Ronnie Boykins (1935-1980) stepped out on his own for his first and only release as a leader on The Will Come, Is Now. He was invited by ESP in 1964 to record his own album, and in February 1974, he told ESP that he was finally ready, and the session took place later that month. This recording not only features Boykins's solid abilities as a bassist, including his marvelous arco work, but also his talents as a composer and arranger. In addition, one is treated to an all-natural bass sound, a rare sound during this particular era of jazz history. In septet format, Boykinss' six originals create a variety of moods and textures that not only evoke the music of Sun Ra but also reflect Boykins's own sensibilities as an artist.

Original pressings, made just before ESP-Disk’ went on hiatus for forty years and thus less common than other ESP LPs, often go for upwards of $150. This limited edition of 500 is on black 180-gram vinyl and features the original artwork.

Ronnie Boykins: bass, Sousaphone , bells, shaker

Joe Ferguson: flute, soprano sax, tenor sax, shaker

Art Lewis: percussion, drums, bells, shaker

Jimmy Vass: flute, alto sax, soprano sax, bells, shaker

Monty Waters: alto, soprano, bells, shaker

George Avaloz: conga, bells, shaker

Daoud Haroom: trombone, bells, shaker


A1. The Will Come, Is Now
A2. Starlight at the Wonder Inn
A3. Demon's Dance
B1. Dawn Is Evening, Afternoon
B2. Tipping on Heels
B3. The Third I