The Language Of Injury

  • Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Available to buy

Product Info

Limited LP: Orange/White Vinyl

More Info

The band pits noise rock against post-rock, metalcore against doom... The debut from the UK melodic hardcore band shows their passion for experimentation in a genre where that is desperately welcome" Pitchfork "Out to reshape the hardcore scene" Revolver "An unmitigated triumph" Metal Hammer (9/10) "A boiling concoction of dark hardcore, metallic fury and absolutely annihilating riffs" Kerrang! (KKKK) Formed in 2012 out of a mutual love of melodic hardcore but despair at it's lack of ambition, Ithaca draw influence from Southern doom to 90s's math rock as well as the passionate untethered savagery of early Poison The Well and melodious chaos of Oathbreaker. The result is crushing grooves, shrieking guitar squalls that give way to haunting melodic passages and desolate reprieves.

Following on from 2015's Trespassers EP, debut album The Language Of Injury aptly embodies everything those in the know have come to love from UK Metallic Hardcore group Ithaca and serves them wonderfully as a statement of intent. Coming out the gates with haunting vocal melodies and chord progression dramatics, before discordance worthy of instilling fear into the most composed individual devastate the listener. The most striking and noticeable difference in Ithacas sound, from previous releases and their contemporaries, lies in their confidence and newfound identity. Channeling Oathbreaker at their most expansive coupled with vicious metallic passages owing to Ferret Records heyday bands such as Martyr A.D. In an age of oversaturation within the genre, Ithaca are sure to be a new guiding light.

With a deft nod to their influences whilst resolutely modernising their sound and expanding what can be done when you hone your craft, it’s perhaps time we learned their language. Ithaca signed to Hassle Records in early 2021, with a new album scheduled for release in early 2022. On discussing their new label home, and what's to come, Ithaca comment: "We couldn't be more excited to join the Hassle family. Their roster shows a genuine spirit of creative independence and as an organisation they're driven by values of social and environmental justice, both of which are hugely important for us as a band. We can't wait to unleash some unhinged sonic chaos together in 2022."


1. New Covenant
2. Clsr.
3. Youth vs Wisdom
4. Impulse Crush
5. Secretspace
6. Gilt
7. Slow Negative Order
8. Better Abuse
9. (no Translation)
10. The Language Of Injury