Thom Yorke

The Eraser

  • Sale
  • Regular price £24.99
  • Unavailable Unavailable

More Info
The Eraser is the debut solo album by Thom Yorke of Radiohead, released on 10 July 2006 by XL Recordings. It was produced by longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich. The album comprises electronic music Yorke recorded during Radiohead's 2004 hiatus and between their 2005 rehearsals. The lyrics express Yorke's political concerns; he wrote the lead single, "Harrowdown Hill", about the death of David Kelly, a British weapons inspector who died of presumed suicide after telling a reporter that the British government had falsely identified weapons of mass destruction in Iraq. The cover art, by longtime Radiohead collaborator Stanley Donwood, was inspired by the legend of King Canute failing to command the ocean, which Yorke likened to government attitudes towards climate change. The Eraser debuted at number three on the UK Albums Chart and number two on the American Billboard 200. It was named one of the best albums of 2006 by the NME, Rolling Stone and the Observer, and was nominated for the 2006 Mercury Music Prize and the 2007 Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Album. Two singles were released from the album: "Analyse" and "Harrowdown Hill". It was followed in the same year by a B-sides EP, Spitting Feathers, and in 2009 a remix album, The Eraser Rmxs. In 2010, to perform the album live, Yorke formed Atoms for Peace with musicians including Godrich and Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea.
The Eraser 4:53
Analyse 4:05
The Clock 4:14
Black Swan 4:48
Skip Divided 3:33
Atoms For Peace 5:12
And It Rained All Night 4:20
Harrowdown Hill 4:36
Cymbal Rush 5:10