The Alchemist

  • Sale
  • Regular price £11.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

• Classic 1973 Progressive Rock album from then short-lived Home

• For fans of Wishbone Ash

• With two bonus tracks

Home featured a line up of Mick Stubbs (guitar, piano, lead vocals), Laurie Wisefield (lead guitar, vocals), Cliff Williams (bass, vocals) and Mick Cook (drums) and had recorded two previous albums in a more conventional style before recording an album cited by many as a lost classic of the Progressive genre.

Although critically acclaimed, the album failed to sell in the quantities it deserved and Home disbanded the following year. With the addition of guest Jimmy Anderson on Mellotron and synthesiser, the conceptual work also brought the guitar playing of Laurie Wisefield to the fore, eventually leading to him joining Wishbone Ash.


1 Schooldays
2 The Old Man Dying
3 Time Passes By
4 The Old Man Calling (Save The People)
5 The Disaster
6 The Sun’s Revenge
7 A Secret To Keep
8 The Brass Band Played
9 Rejoicing
10 The Disaster Returns (Devastation)
11 The Death Of The Alchemist
12 The Alchemist

Bonus Tracks
13 Green Eyed Fairy
14 Sister Rosalie