Susumu Yokota


  • Sale
  • Regular price £28.99
  • Available to buy Available to buy

Product Info

Limited LP : White Vinyl 

Standard LP : Black Vinyl 

More Info

“a lush, ornate, and elegant celebration of the oft-maligned pleasure of pure surface-level beauty”. Pitchfork

London independent imprint Lo Recordings are excited to announce that they will release a vinyl version of the ‘Symbol’ album by the late Japanese electronic pioneer Susumu Yokota on the 8th of April 2022.

Originally released in 2004, the special limited edition reissue comes in a newly designed and beautifully packaged gatefold sleeve with liner notes by Ben Eshmade and Tsutomu Noda.

The prolific Yokota rightly saw this album as his masterwork. An incredible kaleidoscopic patchwork of samples from classical recordings by the likes of John Cage, Meredith Monk, Prokofiev, Debussy, Ravel and Tchaikovsky are brought together and lovingly transformed in Yokota’s inimitable style to create what Pitchfork described as an "ecstasy album”

Each track is a firework of temporality, as ideas collide and briefly hold together in the fragile moment before decaying and decomposing. Sampling, the re-imagining of music, is very much the instrument of Yokota. Within the restricted seconds of a digital sample you hear a recording from a certain time, you hear the room, you hear the dust on the cello bow, and you can just about sense what the musician was feeling that day.


A1. long long silk bridge
A2. purple rose minuet
A3. traveler in the wonderland
A4. song of the sleeping forest
A5. the plateau which the zephyr of flora occupies
A6. fairy dance of twinkle and shadow

B1. flaming love and destiny
B2. the dying black swan
B3. blue sky and yellow sunflower
B4. capriccio and the innovative composer
B5. I close the door upon myself
B6. symbol of life, love and aesthetics
B7. music from the lake surface