Various Artists

Sunny Side Up

  • Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Unavailable Available to buy Available to buy

Product Info

Limited LP : Limited indies only magenta coloured vinyl

More Info
New compilation on Gilles Peterson's Brownswood label highlighting the underground musical scene in Melbourne.

Featuring nine different groups, many of them sharing members and studios, the record surveys the musical contours of this bubbling scene, nodding to house, broken beat, samba, p-funk and soul.

Recorded over a week at The Grove, a fabled house-cum-studio in the North Melbourne suburb of Coburg, it’s home
to the record’s engineer, Nick Herrera, and two members of Hiatus Kaiyote, the city’s breakout gangster-soul dons
with whom many of the record’s personnel have collaborated. Silentjay was musical director, the Rhythm Section-
affiliated multi-instrumentalist and producer (who’s played with Joey Bada$$ and Flying Lotus) marshalling together
the album’s different players, many of them part of influential collectives 30/70 and Mandarin Dreams.
1. Phil Stroud - Banksia
2. Dufresne - Pick Up / Galaxy
3. Kuzich - There Is No Time
4. Audrey Powne - Bleeding Hearts
5. Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange - Powers 2 (The People)
6. Laneous - Nice To See You
7. Silentjay - Eternal / Internal Peace
8. Horatio Luna -The Wake-Up
9. Allysha Joy - Orbit