• Released: 06/05/2022
  • Label: BBR
  • Genre: Soul

  • Sale
  • Regular price £11.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

• Remastered and repackaged edition of Spinners’ self- titled album, with eight bonus tracks and a brand new interview with Thom Bell.

• Containing their biggest hits ‘Ghetto Child’, ‘I’ll Be Around’ and ‘Could It Be I’m Falling In Love’

• Featuring four songs with the legendary Dionne Warwick

After achieving minor success on Motown and VIP in the 1960s and early ‘70s, Spinners rebooted themselves when transferring to Atlantic in 1972. They would go on to record the first of many records at Sigma Sound Studios, a base from where ‘Philly Soul’ emerged, producer, Thom Bell redefining the band for their debut record for Atlantic.

The flipside of the romantic ballad ‘How Could I Let You Get Away’, ‘I’ll Be Around’ (US #3/SOUL #1) with its heightened rhythm section and soulful harmonies elevated the band’s profile hugely. ‘Could It Be I’m Falling In Love’ (US #4/SOUL #1/UK#11) continued this newfound optimism and the band’s staggering commercial success, while the more melancholy ‘One Of A Kind (Love Affair)’ (US #11/SOUL #1) increased their new profile further, with Philly Sound pioneers MFSB providing instrumentation.
The final single from the album, ‘Ghetto Child’ (US #29/SOUL #4/UK #7) breaks from the romantic theme of the previous singles, returning to the social consciousness that the band embraced in their tenure at Motown. The concerns of racial inequality in contemporary America are urgent but retro-fitted into the smooth album that made their critical and commercial success soar.


1 Just Can’t Get You Out Of My Mind – Spinners & Dionne Warwick
2 Just You And Me Baby – Spinners & Dionne Warwick
3 Don’t Let The Green Grass Fool You
4 I Could Never (Repay Your Love) – Spinners & Dionne Warwick
5 I’ll Be Around
6 One Of A Kind (Love Affair)
7 We Belong Together – Spinners & Dionne Warwick
8 Ghetto Child
9 How Could I Let You Get Away
10 Could It Be I’m Falling In Love Bonus Tracks
11 (Oh Lord) I Wish I Could Sleep
12 I Just Gotta Make It Happen
13 Mr Big Man
14 You Sure Are Nasty
15 I’ll Be Around (Original Mike Maurro Extended Remix)
16 Could It Be I’m Falling In Love (Tom Moulton Mix)
17 One Of A Kind (Love Affair) [Tom Moulton Mix]
18 I’ll Be Around