Various Artists

Soul On The Real Side #14

  • Sale
  • Regular price £11.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

The architects of soul are back with a stunning new 20-track Spring 2022 collection and, incredibly, almost half of them are NEW-TO-CD!

Our show opens with the Grammy Award winning “Color Him Father” by The Winstons. Released in 1969, it scored a #2 R&B and #7 Hot 100 hit for the band and has been covered multiple times including Linda Martell’s soulful-country reading produced by Shelby Singleton; O. C. Smith; The Naturals and Bobby Womack. The Continental Showstoppers finally make it to our CD series with their seldom heard rarity “Never Set Me Free” penned and produced by the great Jackey Beavers. Beavers reappears on track 6 with the awesome, self-penned “Lover Come Back”, a superior version of the earlier ‘Jaber’ release. Joe Simon makes it to CD with his fabulous Carolina-styled stroller “When” (trk. 5) perfectly matched by Otis Clay’s unreleased “Come My Dear” (trk. 7). James “Bull” Parks and his Matadors also make it to CD with their pleading “If You Decide” (trk. 8); as does Gerald Taylor with the impossibly rare Seven B’ recording “I’m Coming Home” (trk. 9). Deniece Chandler (aka Deniece Williams) also scores a CD debut with “I’d Believe Him” (trk. 11) recorded in 1970 for ‘Lock Records’. Perhaps one of the most eagerly awaited new-to-CD tracks is “Groovin’ With My Thing” (trk. 16) recorded in 1969 by The DeVons for ‘Mr G Record


1. Colour Him Father
2. I'm In Heaven
3. Never Set Me Free
4. Try Something New
5. When
6. Love Come Back
7. Come My Dear
8. If You Decide
9. I'm Coming Home
10. I've Just Gotta Tell Somebody
11. I'd Believe Him
12. I Can Remebrer
13. Open Up Your Heart
14. What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)
15. Why Don't You Write
16. Groovin' With My Thing
17. I Hate Hate
18. Smooth Sailing
19. Nobody But You
20. How Could My Baby Know