Billy Higgins


  • Sale
  • Regular price £26.99
  • Available to buy

Product Info

Limited LP : Translucent Green Vinyl

More Info

To celebrate the 45th anniversary of iconic Dutch jazz label Timeless Records, Music On Vinyl is releasing a series that features albums that are part of the Timeless Records legacy and will be released mainly throughout 2021/2022.

American jazz drummer Billy Higgins recorded his second album The Soldier in 1979. Featured on this album are Monty Waters on alto saxophone, Cedar Walton on the piano, Walter Brooker on bass and vocalist Roberta Davis. The track “Peace” features guest performer Horace Silver and on “Sonny Moon For Two”, Higgins is accompanied by Sonny Rollins.

Higgins mainly played free jazz and hard bop. He was one of the house drummers for Blue Note Records and played dozens of Blue Note albums of the 1960s. His drums were an important addition to many recordings such as Dexter Gordon’s Go! and Herbie Hancock’s Takin’ Off.

The Soldier is available as a limited edition of 500 individually numbered copies on translucent green coloured vinyl and includes an insert with upcoming titles from the Timeless Records 45th Anniversary Jazz Series.


1. Sugar And Spice (vocals by Roberta Davis)
2. Midnite Waltz
3. Just In Time

1. If You Could See Me Now
2. Peace
3. Sonny Moon For Two