Type O Negative

Slow, Deep, And Hard (2021 Reissue)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £44.99
  • Unavailable

Product Info

Limited 2LP : Green and Black Mixed Vinyl, Deluxe Tip-On Style Jacket and Exclusive Poster

More Info

Type O Negative is an American goth-metal band formed in Brooklyn in 1989 by Peter Steele (lead vocals, bass), Kenny Hickey (guitar, backing vocals), Josh Silver (keyboards, backing vocals), and Sal Abruscato (drums, percussions), who was later replaced by Johnny Kelly. Slow, Deep and Hard is their debut studio album, released in 1991 on Roadrunner Records. The album, originally titled None More Negative and released in 1990 under the group’s former name Repulsion, launched the band’s career. The album has a rawness that was prominent in Peter Steele’s previous band, Carnivore, but it incorporates elements that became standard for Type O Negative, merging styles including doom metal, gothic rock, new wave and industrial music.

Slow, Deep and Hard is a semi-autobiographical album with heavy amounts of black humour, based on a failed relationship in which the vocalist/bass guitarist Peter Steele was involved. In keeping with the band’s notable humour, the album’s cover artwork is a blurred image of sexual penetration. According to guitarist Kenny Hickey, Steele based a riff of “Gravitational Constant: G = 6.67 x 10 – 8 cm – 3 gm – 1 sec – 2” (later known as “Gravity”) from the theme song of the 1964 American sitcom The Munsters. For the 30th anniversary of Slow, Deep and Hard, Roadrunner Records in conjunction with Run Out Groove, is reissuing the debut on vinyl in all it’s remastered glory.



Side A:

  1. Unsuccessfully Coping With The Natural Beauty Of Infidelity

Side B

  1. Der Untermensch
  2. Xero Tolerance

LP 2

Side C:

  1. Prelude to Agony
  2. Glass Walls Of Limbo (Dance Mix)

Side D

  1. The Misinterpretation Of Silence
  2. And Its Disastrous Consequences
  3. Gravitational Constant:
  4. G = 6.67 x 10 – 8 cm – 3 gm – 1 sec – 2
  5. Hey Pete (Pete’s Ego Trip Version)