Sonny Rollins

Saxophone Colossus

  • Sale
  • Regular price £7.99
  • Available to buy

More Info
Sonny Rollins' classic album ‘Saxophone Colossus’ with pictures by iconic photographer Francis Wolf + 7 bonus tracks.

’Saxophone Colossus’ was Sonny Rollins’ sixth studio album as a leader, and is perhaps his best-known LP, often considered his breakthrough record. Rollins leads a quartet featuring pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Doug Watkins, and drummer Max Roach. Seven Rollins’ small group performances from the same period have been added as a bonus. ”I find this entire album excellent on all counts and for all persons concerned
(the recorded sound is a gas, by the way).” - Ralph J. Gleason, DownBeat

Saint Thomas / You Don’t Know What Love Is / Strode Rode / Moritat [Mack The Knife] / Blue 7 / When Your Lover Has Gone / Paul’s Pal / My Reverie / The Most Beautiful Girl In The World / In A Sentimental Mood / Manhattan / God Bless The Child