Simon Joyner

Pocket Moon

  • Sale
  • Regular price £17.99
  • Unavailable Available to buy In Stock

Product Info

Limited LP : Translucent white marbled vinyl

More Info
"Singer-songwriter" is a frustratingly confining term; to truly understand exactly just how confining, look no further than the recorded works of Simon Joyner, an artist whose work consistently transcends the narrow parameters of genre classifications and record shop bin cards. Though his music has always honoured, reckoned with-wrestled with-the tradition set forth by his songwriting forebears (Cohen, Van Zandt, Ochs, Dylan, Reed to name a few), Joyner can always be counted on to defy expectations; as a lyricist, melodicist, and arranger, Joyner likes to keep us on our toes.

Pocket Moon finds Joyner's myriad powers undiminished, his legacy assured, his muse dogged and insatiable, his writing sharper than ever. As his narrator reminds us in the devastating song "Tongue of a Child," "...everything looks clean when you stand back so far, a swallowtail shredding its wings against the sides of this jar." This is music as mindfulness: Joyner is unwilling to simply report the sweeping gestures but instead observes the violence, beauty, and absurdity of everyday life up close and dares you to join him in laughing at it, ruminating on it, or running from it screaming.
01.You Never Know

02. Blue Eyed Boy

03. Tongue of a Child

04. You're Running Away, David

05. Morning Sun, Slow Down

06. Yellow Jacket Blues

07. Pocket Moon

08. The Last Time I Saw You, Billy

09. Sean Foley's Blues

10. Time Slows Down In Dreams

11. Blue Lullaby