Gentle Stranger

Love And Unlearn

  • Sale
  • Regular price £17.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

Gentle Stranger took just one week to crystallise a set of ideas that formed the emotional core of their debut album "Love And Unlearn". The band, who have a shifting cast of associated members, were then comprised of Tom Hardwick-Allan, Alex McKenzie, Josh Barfoot and Evangeline Ling (who has since left to focus on Audiobooks). “ It was the first time that we tried to record a stand alone project, ” says multi-instrumentalist Hardwick-Allan of the seven days they spent in one small room two and a half years ago. “It’s a snapshot of the band at that particular time, rather than representative of us as a whole. ”
Recorded "almost all live", there are no samples and precious few overdubs. The band are all accomplished multi-instrumentalists, and recall heading to Margate’s PRAH studios by train, carrying everything from a flute, trombone and saxophone to a dual clarinet and a smoke alarm. They even brought a toy piano, despite only needing four notes, such was their dedication to getting things right in terms of both tone and texture.


1. Idle Messenger
2. Love And Unbass
3. Dunce Disco Anthem
4. Plastic Skeleton
5. New Insect Lite
6. Call Me Back Later
7. Insects Logic
8. Hurry Horse
9. Like A Deer
10. Two To Carry
11. Basic Stretches
12. Rook In The Rafters
13. Love And Unbrass
14. Trope After Trope
15. Foxglove
16. Smoke Alarms
17. Kestrels
18. Love And Ulearn
19. Obvious As Snow