Various Artists

J Jazz Volume 2 – Deep Modern Jazz From Japan 1969–1983

  • Sale
  • Regular price £11.99
  • Unavailable Available to buy

More Info
Volume 2 of this series from the BBE label, following the very well-received initial volume.

"J Jazz 2" builds on the solid foundation of the first compilation and sees co-compilers Tony Higgins and Mike Peden once again pick choice sections from their own record collections. They present a deep dive into an intoxicating and
beguiling range of styles: from cinematic roaring big-band (Little G by Nobuo Hara) and sparse minimal acoustic
funk (Teru-Teru Bozo by Teru Sakamoto), to deep spiritual modal epics (Dragon Dance by Makoto Terashita and
Harold Land) and funk fusion (Mother of the Future by Electro Keyboard Orchestra). "J Jazz 2" delivers more
astonishing high quality jazz that will appeal the old school hard-core jazz head as much as those digging the
current sounds of the current vibrant jazz explosion in the UK and USA. The specially chosen tracks on "J Jazz 2" span across 25 years of Japanese musical progression and invention.
Side 1

1. Makoto Terashita Meets Harold Land - "Dragon Dance"
2. Nobuo Hara & His Sharps & Flats Orchestra - "Little Giant"
3. Mabumi Yamaguchi Quartet - "Distant Thunder"
4. Hideto Sasaki & Toshiyuki Sekine Quartet - "Stop Over"
5. Miyasaka - "Animal's Garden"
6. Electro Keyboard Orchestra - "Mother Of The Future"
7. Hiroshi Matsumoto & Hideo Ishikawa Quartet - "Serenade To A Dimly Lit Street"
8. Koichi Matsukaze - "The Original Bill"
Side 2
1. George Kawaguchi Big Four - "Vietnam"
2. Kohsuke Mine Quintet - "Daguri"
3. Makoto Terashita - "Dai Hosaku (Great Harvest)"
4. Teru Sakamoto Trio Plus One - "Teru-Teru Bozu (Black Keys)"
5. Takashi Miyasaka Quintet - "Straight Road"
6. Toshiyuki Miyama & The New Herd Masahiko Sato - "Fallout"
7. Akira Miyazawa - "Brown Trout"