• Sale
  • Regular price £49.99
  • Unavailable Unavailable

More Info

Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge are best known for their collaborations with vocalists and MCs, but these two multi-instrumentalists and producers excel in their ability to conjure musical moods with or without vocal accompaniment.

Similarly, the musical legends that these two handpicked to collaborate with across this series are all jazz legends equally at home crafting unadorned compositions as they are collaborating with vocalists.

This 2LP collection presents exclusive instrumental versions of songs originally released on the Jazz Is Dead albums; Roy Ayers JID002, Marcos Valle JID003, Gary Bartz JID006, and João Donato JID007.

More than the previous eight Jazz Is Dead releases Instrumentals JID009 delivers on Adrian and Ali’s original promise of showcasing the music made with their heroes, laying bare the inspired compositions created when different generations of musicians come together to collaborate in the studio. For nearly all of these songs, Adrian and Ali began with sketches and elements of songs that they developed alongside the featured musicians live in Adrian Younge’s Linear Labs studio located in the Highland Park neighborhood of Los Angeles.


A1. Hey Lover feat. Roy Ayers (Instrumental)

A2. Oi feat. Marcos Valle (Instrumental)

A3. Visions of Love feat. Gary Bartz (Instrumental)

A4. Aquarius (Why Do You Cry) feat. João Donato (Instrumental)

A5. Soulful and Unique feat. Roy Ayers (Instrumental)

B1. Isso É Que Eu Sei feat. Marcos Valle (Instrumental)

B2. Nao Negue Seu Coracao feat. João Donato (Instrumental)

B3. Sunflowers feat. Roy Ayers (Instrumental)

B4. Queira Bem feat. Marcos Valle (Instrumental)

C1. Day By Day feat. Gary Bartz (Instrumental)

C2. Gotta Love Again feat. Marcos Valle (Instrumental)

C3. Forever More feat. João Donato (Instrumental)

C4. Synchronized Vibration feat. Roy Ayers (Instrumental)

D1. Viajando Por Ai feat. Marcos Valle (Instrumental)

D2. Gravity feat. Roy Ayers (Instrumental)

D3. Não Saia Da Praça feat. Marcos Valle (Instrumental)

D4. Beauty feat. João Donato (Instrumental)

D5. African Sounds feat. Roy Ayers (Instrumental)

D6. A Gente Volta Amanhã feat. Marcos Valle (Instrumental)