Alexa Rose


  • Sale
  • Regular price £16.99
  • Available to buy Available to buy

More Info

 “Well you grew up just like any other kid/In a Southern town, morning prayers and evening poison/And the wolf tone of a kettle’s crooked lid.” - Alexa Rose, “Diamonds”

Headwaters is the second album from Virginian indie folksinger Alexa Rose. A series of minutely-observed vignettes that feel intimate and expansive at the same time, Headwaters captures the sweetness of life without avoiding any of the pain, with songs about time and its constraints, peppered with precise details pulled from Rose’s own life that make universal themes seem personal, inviting the listener to make each song their own. “I take pride in where I’m from,” says Rose, “and my appreciation for community and the value of small towns definitely informs my writing. But there’s also what comes from touring, the joy of driving around and seeing the rest of the world. That’s just as much an influence as where I’m from.” This heightened sense of the world suffuses Headwaters, giving it its cinematic bent without sacrificing any of the intimacy of her first album, Medicine for Living. “Pretty much all of Headwaters was written during the pandemic,” says Rose, “in that weird lucid feeling of not-time.”

Recorded over five sessions in Memphis, Tennessee at Delta Sonic Studios, with Bruce Watson producing, with mixing by Matt Ross-Spang and Clay Jones. Rose would sometimes bring songs written the night before and record them the next day with an all-star band, including guitarist Will Sexton, bassist Mark Stuart, drummer George Sluppick, and Al Gamble on organ and piano. The immediacy of being in the studio with freshly-written songs and an excellent band allowed Rose to expand her music in new ways.


1. Wild Peppermint
2. Clearwater Park
3. Human
4. Diamonds
5. Pale Golden Flowers
6. Big Sky
7. Haywood
8. 1999
9. Borders (God Is a River)