Kiki Dee

Fontana & Motown Box Set

  • Released: 16/10/2020
  • Label: Edsel
  • Genre: Pop

  • Sale
  • Regular price £26.99
  • Unavailable

Product Info

3CD Boxset : Triple CD with 28 Page Booklet

More Info

 Signed to the Fontana label when she was just 16, Kiki Dee’s first single, “Early Night”
(penned by Mitch Murray) was released in May 1963, before Cilla Black, Sandie Shaw, Lulu or Dusty Springfield (as a solo artist) had released a record. She released a further eleven singles (plus several European versions) and an album on Fontana, before being signing to the Motown label, the first British artist to do so.

This is the first comprehensive collection of all of Kiki’s 60s releases, compiled with her
involvement. Discs One and Two feature all of Kiki’s singles for the Fontana label, including “(You Don’t Know) How Glad I Am” and her Northern Soul classic “On A Magic Carpet Ride”, as well as the “I’m Kiki Dee” album (with all twelve tracks in stereo on CD for first time). Also included are Kiki’s ten European Fontana singles together on CD for the first time, seven on CD for the first time ever. Kiki manages to sing in Italian, French, German and Spanish!

Disc Three features her recordings for the Motown label – the original album “Great
Expectations” and nine bonus tracks (two of these appear on CD for the first time, and one mix is previously unreleased). Produced by Frank Wilson, Kiki covers such classics as “For Once In My Life”, “I Second That Emotion”, “Walk On By”, “Put A Little Love In Your Heart”, “You’re My World” and “You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me”.

The 28 page book features extensive brand new annotation by Alan Robinson, based on a 2020 interview with Kiki, as well as rare photos from Kiki’s own collection.

1. Early Night
2. Lucky High Heels
3. Don’t Put Your Heart In His Hands
4. I Was Only Kidding
5. Miracles
6. That’s Right, Walk On By
7. (You Don’t Know) How Glad I Am
8. Baby I Don’t Care
9. Runnin’ Out Of Fools
10. There He Goes
11. Excuse Me
12. Sunshine
13. Patterns
14. With A Kiss
15. When We Get There
16. Why Don’t I Run Away From You?
17. I
18. We’ve Got Everything Going For Us
19. I Dig You Baby
20. Stop And Think
21. Don’t Destroy Me
22. I’m Going Out (The Same Way I Came In)

1. Small Town
2. Doctor In Clover
3. Take A Look At Me
4. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
5. Hungry Heart
6. Now The Flowers Cry
7. On A Magic Carpet Ride
8. Aspetta Domani
9. Senza Te [Baby I Don’t Care]
10. Come Ti Amo
[(You Don’t Know) How Glad I Am]
11. Favole [Miracles]
12. Warte Bis Morgen [Aspetta Domani]
13. Johnny's Kuss [With A Kiss]
14. Nein, Ich Weiss Nicht Mehr Was Ich Tu'!
[Why Don't I Run Away From You]
15. Je Vais Partir Loin De Toi
[Why Don't I Run Away From You]
16. C'est Bien Mieux, Baby [I Dig You Baby]
17. Espera A Manana [Aspetta Domani]

1. The Day Will Come Between Sunday And Monday
2. Johnny Raven
3. Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing
4. Jimmy
5. I Can’t Give Back The Love I Feel For You
6. More Today Than Yesterday
7. Love Makes The World Go Round
8. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
9. Love Is A Warm Kind Of Sorrow
10. For Once In My Life
11. My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)
12. I Second That Emotion
13. Oh Be My Love
14. I’ll Try Something New
15. Walk On By
16. Mr Loneliness
17. I’ll Have You, You’ll Have Me
18. Put A Little Love In Your Heart
19. While They Watch
20. You're My World
21. Walk On By [mix 2]