The Texas Gentlemen

Floor It!!!

  • Sale
  • Regular price £23.99
  • Available to buy Available to buy Available to buy

Product Info

Limited 2LP : Three Colour 140g Double Vinyl

2LP : Standard Black 140g Double Vinyl

More Info

Pop on Floor It!!!, the new and second full-length effort from the Texas Gentlemen, and prepare your eardrums to be hit with everything from woozy, brass-fuelled Dixieland-style jazz (“Veal Cutlass”), to slinky, chicken- scratch country funk (“Bare Maximum”) to lushly orchestrated pop-soul balladry (“Ain’t Nothin’ New”)— and that’s all in just the first 10 minutes of play time.

While the Gentlemen’s sound is clearly steeped in the classic roots, rock and pop music of the ‘60s and ‘70s, there’s a dreamy (the lilting “Sing Me to Sleep”), spacey (“Skyway Streetcar”) and occasionally progressive (“Dark at the End of the Tunnel”) element to what they do that seems to detach the music from belonging to any particular place and time.

Add in elements of funk, soul, country, r&b, southern rock, gospel and essentially any other style that catches their musically omnivorous ears; an expansive and detailed approach to arrangement that sees the songs adorned with all manner of horns, strings and heavenly background vocals (“Hard Road”) and you have a collection of tunes that is more than just a mere album. Rather, Floor It!!! is a rich and righteous ride.

Available on CD (with 16 panel foldout poster), 140g double vinyl and – exclusive to independent retailers – limited edition three colour 140g double vinyl.

Both vinyl formats feature a gatefold sleeve which opens to full game board, contains 8 game tokens. Also includes digital download code.

  1. Veal Cutlass
  2. Bare Maximum
  3. Ain't Nothin' New
  4. Train to Avesta
  5. Easy St.
  6. Hard Rd.
  7. Dark at the End of the Tunnel
  8. Sing me to Sleep
  9. Last Call
  10. She Won't
  11. Charlie's House
  12. Skyway Streetcar
  13. Floor It!!!