Dana Gillespie

First Love

  • Sale
  • Regular price £29.99
  • In Stock In Stock In Stock

More Info

Legendary singer-songwriter Dana Gillespie, with over 70 albums to her credit in a career spanning six decades, adds a new chapter with the release of her stunning new album First Love on 31st May 2024 through Fretsore Records. While First Love is a deeply personal album, it marks a shift for Dana who teams up with close friends Marc Almond and Tris Penna who together produced the album. 

Born in 1949 and raised in London in an era of unrivalled experimentation and artistic rebellion, Dana began her recording career at 15 with Pye Records. Her journey in entertainment is marked by significant milestones, including collaborations with icons such as David Bowie, Bob Dylan and Elton John.  

A project of refined integrity, recordings including the first single “Spent The Day In Bed” (a Morrissey song) showcase a diversity of influences that only those who have lived the experience could so masterfully convey.

First Love will be released on digital, CD, standard black and Limited Edition Translucent Red Vinyl.

Cover art photo by Gered Mankowitch.


1. Boulevard of Broken Dreams (Billie Joe Armstrong/Tré Cool/Mike Dirnt)
2. Spent The Day In Bed (Gustavo Manzur/Morrissey)
3. Dance Me To The End of Love – featuring Marc Almond (Leonard Cohen)
4. Not Dark Yet (Bob Dylan)
5. Brewer Street Blues (Marc Almond/Neal Whitmore)
6. Gods And Monsters (Elizabeth Grant/Tim Larcombe)
7. In A Broken Dream (David Bentley)
8. Can You Hear Me (David Bowie)
9. Simple As This (Jake Bugg)
10. First Love, Last Love (Dana Gillespie, Nick Hogarth, Leslie Davidson)
11. Dreams (Stevie Nicks)

Produced By Marc Almond And Tris Penna