Bob Dylan

Essential Works 1961-1962

  • Sale
  • Regular price £21.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

Robert Zimmerman, aka the rock-folk singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, was born in Duluth, Minnesota in 1941. His first three albums – Bob Dylan, The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan, The Times They Are A-Changing – reoriented both folk music and rock. His early songs were largely inspired by Woody Guthrie, and in turn provided inspiration (and soon a religion) to many music fans around the globe. 

There is no doubt that the baby-boomers of 1968 – a whole generation – were seeking an ideal, and the promise of change in Dylan’s first songs transformed a merely average nasal-toned folk singer into a figurehead of the protest movement, and later one of its high priests.

But there are also those who will remember how Dylan invented his own life-story as an orphan with Indian blood who spent his childhood in a circus/ Or how he happily explained to 'Time' why their magazine was pointless (and to CBS News why opinions expressed by media were useless and harmful.) Of course they were, and so Bob was there to change the world. Times, indeed, they were changing, and Bob began wearing silk shirts way before he was handed the Nobel Prize for Literature. We need more Jesus Christs and Bob Dylans as world-changers.


A1. You're No Good
A2. Talkin New York
A3. In My Time Of Dyin
A4. Man Of Constant Sorrow
A5. Fixin' To Die
A6. Peggy

B1. Highway 51 Blues
B2. Gospel Plow
B3. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down
B4. House Of The Risin Sun
B5. Freight Train Blues
B6. Song To Woody
B7. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean

C1. Mixed-Up Confusion
C2. Introduction
C3. Poor Lazarus
C4. Mean Old Southern Railroad
C5. Fixin’ To Die

D1. Smokestack Lightnin’
D2. Hard Travellin’
D3. The Death of Emmett Till
D4. Standing on the Highway
D5. Baby Please Don’t Go