Joan Baez

Essential Works 1959 - 1962

  • Sale
  • Regular price £21.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

Joan Baez – a singer, activist and pacificist committed to the struggle against all segregation – recorded her first album in 1959 at the age of eighteen. The titles on these four sides are taken from the first four records she made, and they all reflected the position she took in the folk movement that was then emerging, together with her militant support of minority groups.

It would be sixty years before she said farewell to the stage, in July 2019 at the Montreux jazz Festival, after a sixty-year career of unrivalled quality that actively showed her sincere commitment to social and political causes. The grace in her exceptional voice, her kindness and admirable personality – and her determination – earned her an exceptional place in the history of popular music, as well as in the hearts of an ever-increasing audience.



1. The Banks of the Ohio

2. O What a Beautiful City

3. Sail Away Ladies

4. Black Is the Color of My True Love Hair

5. Lowlands

6. What You Gonna Call Your Pretty Little Baby


1. Silver Dagger

2. East Virginia

3. Fare Thee Well

4. House of the Rising Sun

5. Donna Donna

6. John Riley

7. Rake and Rambling Boy


1. Wagoner’s Lad

2. The Trees They Do Grow High

3. The Lily of the West

4. Once I Knew a Pretty Girl

5. Lonesome Road

6. Railroad Boy

7. Plaisir d’amour


1. Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You

2. Geordie

3. Copper Kettle

4. What Have The Done to the Rain ?

5. Lady Mary

6. Pretty Boy Floyd