Various Artists

Esa Presents Amandla: Music To The People

  • Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Available to buy

More Info
Growing up in Cape Town, South Africa, during the last days of Apartheid, Esa recalls the immense power of music had in resisting oppression and division.

“Amandla, Awethu”, which literally means “the power is ours”, was an ubiquitous chant echoing throughout the politically charged atmosphere of the time - a call to unite, and a call from which this release derives not only its title, but its intention as well. “Music was a crucial way of bringing people and communities together”, reflects Esa, “and it’s what I hope to achieve with this compilation, too”.

The result is a rainbow of complementary electronic styles hailing from not only South Africa but further afield, including zouk from Brazil and the French Antilles, as well as Afro-futurism. Together, they form a comprehensive picture that connects the dots of Esa’s musical journey - from growing up in South Africa, to artists he has encountered in his worldwide travels who have helped develop his identity as a musician.
LP 1:

Penny Penny - Shilungu

Alaska - Accuse (Instrumental)

Ze Spirits Band - Tucheza (Esa Extended Mix)

Nonku Phiri - S f (feat. Dion Monti)

Os Panteras - Melo Do Anjo (Outra Edit)

LP 2:

Pascal Latour - Lague Yo (Boulo Edit)

Mim Suleiman - Presha Kuka (Unreleased Version)

Masalo - Yera (feat. Doussou Koulibaly)

Esa - Pantsula Traxx

Narchbeats - Cheeks

DJ Spoko - #Justsnares