• Released: 13/08/2021
  • Label: Waxtime
  • Genre: Jazz

  • Sale
  • Regular price £15.99
  • Available to buy

More Info
Limited edition 180g audiophile pressing of this recording by Lester Young Quartet featuring legendary pianists John Lewis and Hank Jones. Dating from 1949-51, the sessions included on this LP were taped in a quartet format showcasing the leader with a piano-bass-drums rhythm section. The dates featured the outstanding pianists Hank Jones and John Lewis, as well as Lester’s friend from the early Basie years, drummer Jo Jones. By the time these sessions were recorded, Prez (Lester Young) was working at Birdland with this exact group (Lewis on piano, Gene Ramey on bass, and Jones on drums), as attested by several surviving broadcasts.

Too Marvellous For Words / Encore / Polka Dots And Moonbeams / Up ‘n Adam / Three Little Words / Neenah / Undercover Girl Blues / Frenesi / Lester Swings / A Foggy Day / Down ‘n Adam / In A Little Spanish Town / ‘deed I Do / Let’s Fall In Love / Little Pee Blues / Thou Swell / Jeepers Creepers / September In The Rain