Gigi Masin


  • Sale
  • Regular price £26.99
  • Unavailable

More Info

Apollo Records present a masterpiece of ambience and beyond – ‘Calypso’ – the stunning new album by Venetian maestro Gigi Masin.
The LP is inspired by the mythical Greek island of Ogygia and its alleged real life counterpart Gavdos – also known unofficially as Calypso – a place of extreme beauty, which upon visiting had a profound effect on the musician. The aqueous and sky-filled vistas of his native Venice are deeply intrinsic, but the best and simplest way to describe ‘Calypso’s sound might simply be Aegean, as every track takes you directly and vividly there – to timeless Greek beauty, glistening seas, picturesque landscapes and the sun’s bright, balmy heat. ‘Calypso’ marks a new phase in Masin's musical evolution after re-releases and retrospectives on the Music From Memory label and new releases with the Gaussian Curve trio alongside Jonny Nash and Young Marco. Aptly released on Apollo, Masin joins a label who count other classics like Aphex Twin’s ‘Selected Ambient Works 85 - 92’, plus Biosphere’s ‘Microgravity’ and ‘Patashnik’ in its catalogue. 


A1. Calypso
A2. Bellamore
A4. Nefertiti
A4. If
B1. Anemone
B2. Khalifa Golf Club
B3. Mayo Slide
B4. Susan Maybe
C1. Amaranta
C2. Coraline
C3. How To Disappear In A Kiss
C4. Cry Winds Or Flames
D1. Enter Venus
D2. On Demons And Diamonds’ - with Ben Vince
D3. The Water Sibyl
D4. Your Name Is My Infinite