The Bushes

Assorted Shrubbery

  • Sale
  • £9.99
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Unavailable

More Info

Short-lived Chicago blues and soul outfit The Bushes was a quartet of white musicians featuring the Hammond organ talents of keyboardist/bassist Ron Stockert, guitarist Al Johnson, drummer John Zefo and lead singer Joel Wilson. Dividing their repertoire between soul tracks by Detroit and Chicago-based artists such as Curtis Mayfield and Smokey Robinson, as well as blues numbers and some spirited originals, the band had musical pedigree and good taste, yet never seemed to find that lucky break that would result in a label signing. Instead, the debut album, Assorted Shrubbery, was released by the band itself in 1968, the music facing in different directions at once, with their takes of Mayfield’s “I’ve Been Tryin’,” The Parliaments’ “Testify (I Wanna)” and Blood Sweat and Tears’ “I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know” jostling for space against their own brand of psychedelic rock on “Most Girls” and the freaky excesses of “Polyphony.” After they split, Stockert joined Rufus, playing with the band from 1971-75.

  1. The Way You Do The Things You Do
  2. I’ve Been Tryin’
  3. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
  4. Testify (I Wanna)
  5. Polyphony
  6. The Hopes, The Dreams, The Tears
  7. Stormy Monday Blues
  8. Most Girls
  9. Ooh Baby Baby
  10. Function At The Junction