Joe Grushecky & The Houserockers

American Babylon (25th Anniversary Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £21.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

Grushecky and his band had been a club fixture in the Northeast for nearly 25 years when they released American Babylon in 1995. The Pittsburgh band had proven themselves to be the consummate bar band with occasional flirtations with national success. American Babylon found them teaming up with Bruce Springsteen, who handles production, plays on several tracks, and wrote two songs for the album. The title track is an uptempo rocker detailing the disintegration of societal mores.

There are plenty of songs outlining love gone wrong and the struggles of common folk, all delivered in Grushecky’s warm, well-worn voice over a barroom mixture of blues-based traditional rock. However, delivered with such earnestness and spirit makes American Babylon a worthy contender and an enjoyable listen for fans of Mellencamp, Seger, and, especially, Springsteen. The 25th anniversary deluxe reissue edition will include LIVE tracks from the Houserockers’ legendary October Assault Tour recorded at an enthusiastic hometown show that same year.


Disc: 1
1. What Did You Do In The War
2. Dark and Bloody Ground
3. Homestead
4. Chain Smokin'
5. Never Be Enough Time
6. Comin' Down Maria
7. Talk Show
8. American Babylon
9. No Strings Attached
10. Labor of Love

Disc: 2
1. Chain Smokin' (w/ Bruce Springsteen) (Live)
2. Billy's Waltz
3. Only Lovers Left Alive
4. American Babylon (w/ Bruce Springsteen) (Live)
5. Only Lovers Left Alive (Live)
6. Light Of Day (w/ Bruce Springsteen) (Live)
7. Keep Knockin' (w/ Bruce Springsteen) (Live)
8. Bruce Springsteen Intro (Live)
9. What Did You Do In The War (w/ Bruce Springsteen) (Live)