• Sale
  • Regular price £9.99
  • Available to buy

Product Info

CD : Standard CD

More Info

London’s club scene in the late 1980s featured many diverse sounds much of which was not exactly commonplace to the punters and eventual collectors of the myriad sounds available at several Soho clubs.

The scene generated many LPs and most of these tracks, which were originally recorded between 1948 and 1962, were featured on these compilations many of which are now collectors’ items in their own right either as vinyl, CD or even cassette.

The collection features such club favourites as “Moanin’” by Art Blakey, “Wade in The Water” by Johnny Griffin and “Sack O’ Woe” by Ray Bryant. Other jazz stars presenting dancefloor fillers include, Chet Baker, Gene Ammons, Brother Jack McDuff and Baby Face Willette. Includes fully detailed liner notes.

  1. Moanin’ - Art Blakey And The Messengers
  2. Screamin’ - Jack Mcduff
  3. Mee-tin’ Here - Curtis Amy & Paul Bryant
  4. Somethin’ Strange - Baby Face Willette
  5. Camp Meetin’ - Sam Lazar
  6. I Ain’t Mad At You - Sam Lazar
  7. Cerveza - Boots Brown And His Blockbusters
  8. Summertime - James Moody
  9. Jazz Jump - King Pleasure
  10. Do It The Hard Way - Chet Baker
  11. Vera - Richard Evans Trio
  12. Sack O’ Woe - Ray Bryant Combo
  13. Blue Vibes - Johnny Lytle Trio
  14. Night In Tunisia - Buck Clarke Sound
  15. Wade In The Water - Johnny Griffin And The Big Soul-Band
  16. Jam For Boppers - Gene Ammons