Smoke Fairies

Darkness Brings The Wonders Home

  • Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Unavailable Pre Order Pre Order Pre Order

More Info
In the making of their new album "Darkness Brings The Wonders Home", Smoke Fairies drew inspiration from mysteries both real and imagined: sea monsters, flocks of crows taking flight in extravagant formation, strange creatures dwelling in the mud near their new South London abode. With their mesmeric vocal presence and starkly poetic lyrics, singer/multi-instrumentalists Katherine Blamire and Jessica Davies embed all that odd magic into songs that speak to the realities of modern times—isolation, insomnia, an overall unease with the state of the world—and ultimately uncover an unlikely sense of hope.

Produced by Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, The Black Angels, The Shins), Darkness Brings The Wonders Home merges Smoke
Fairies’ musings and meditations with a decidedly guitar-driven sound, the duo’s unearthly harmonies endlessly
floating atop lead-heavy riffs. Over the course of a rigorous month-long session in Seattle, Smoke Fairies adopted a
purposely intimate approach to achieving that singular sonic tone.
‘We spent a long time trying to fathom the direction we wanted to take on this album. At times the options seemed
overwhelming, but as new songs started to form we realized we needed to take them back to our core sound – our
interplaying guitar parts’ says Davies. “So then we had to really step up and do it ourselves, without relying on a
band to fill anything in, which was quite a challenge—physically, mentally, everything.”
1. On The Wing
2. Elevator
3. Disconnect
4. Coffee Shop Blues
5. Left To Roll
6. Out Of The Woods
7. Chocolate Rabbit
8. Chew Your Bones
9. Don't You Want To Spiral Out Of Control?
10. Super Tremolo