Ural Thomas & The Pain

Dancing Dimensions

  • Sale
  • Regular price £23.99
  • In Stock In Stock

More Info

Though Ural Thomas is universally recognised as one of the most exciting singers remaining from the original soul era, and an active musical institution for over sixty years, his band, all decades younger, are treated as equals. The Pain are no backing band - but rather a well-oiled tightly-knit musical aggregation that's spent the last eight years with Thomas developing a unique sound of its own. The relationship extends beyond the stage and the studio and the practice room. On a given night you may witness the octogenarian soul journeyman turning up at the club with a crew one-third his age at midnight. If you don't recognise him, he's the sharp-dressed man with the charismatic grin out on the floor cutting a rug long after the young folks went home. This love of life and cross-generational relationship is the essence of Ural Thomas and The Pain.

Despite the usual COVID-19 obstacles, Ural Thomas and The Pain finally completed their much-anticipated third album "Dancing Dimensions."  While exploring everything from sweet Chicago soul to airy West Coast psychedelia to Sly funk, their latest collection retains the distinctive sound the band organically developed over years of relentless work. Classic yet unmistakably contemporary at the same time, "Dancing Dimensions" is the most accurate representation of The Pain's unique flavour, power, and musical breadth committed to vinyl thus far.

  1. Dancing Dimensions
  2. Heaven
  3. Do You Remember The Times We Had?
  4. First Dimension
  5. Apple Pie (Oh Me Oh My)
  6. Ol Safiya
  7. El Eey Em Eh
  8. Gimme Some Ice Cream
  9. Second Dimension
  10. My Favourite Song
  11. Third Dimension
  12. Hung Up On My Dream
  13. Promises
  14. If It Wasn't For Love