On The Streets Of New York

  • Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • In Stock

More Info

Behold! A survey of Moondog’s earliest recorded works - many of them unreleased until now - through a collaboration by Mississippi Records and Lucia Records. From 1954-1962 Tony Schwartz frequently checked in with Moondog, his favorite street musician. Tony Schwartz made recordings of Moondog’s earliest compositions as they were coming into focus. Sometimes these recordings were made right on the street as Moondog busked, sometimes they were made in Schwartz’s studio, and sometimes they were made on NYC rooftops. The resulting recordings, many of which had never been released, were deposited at the Library Of Congress as part of the Tony Schwartz Collection in 2006 when Schwartz passed away, and this record was culled straight from these original tapes. 

Side A:
1. Why Spend The Dark Night With You?
2. Moondog Nocturne Suite Part 1
3. Moondog Nocturne Suite Part 2
4. Moondog Nocturne Suite Part 3
5. Avenue Of The Americas (51st Street)
6. 2 West 46th Street
7. Lullaby (2 West 46th Street)
8. Fog On The Hudson
9. Utsu
10. On And O The Beat
11. Chant
12. From One To Nine
13. Untitled Chant #1
Side B:
1. Untitled Chant #1
2. Untitled Chant #2
3. Untitled Chant #3
4. Untitled percussion solo #1
5. Untitled percussion solo #2
6. Untitled percussion solo #3
7. Untitled Chant #4
8. Untitled percussion so lo in tra c #1
9. Untitled percussion solo in tra c #2