Nolan Potter

Music Is Dead

  • Sale
  • Regular price £25.99
  • In Stock Pre Order Pre Order

Product Info

Dinked : Mustard Yellow Vinyl with 4 Colour Splatter / “Cover Explanation” Insert / Folded 22” x 22” Album Artwork Poster / Bonus 1 Song Red Flexi-Disc / Limited, Numbered Pressing of 500

LP : Standard Black Vinyl

More Info

Nolan Potter is putting us home recording freaks to shame. We had a year of global pandemic to lay out our grand ideas and the sum total of most artists “quar-riffs” wouldn’t push the constraints of a normal band practice (gosh, remember those?).

Nolan Potter, in the meantime, has quietly painted us a beatific masterpiece that veers from the whimsical to the wigged out, deftly weaving an untamed tapestry of sound all the while archly commenting on the present musician’s predicament - and he did it alone. No drum machine clattering in the background amidst tape hiss and 4 track grime here - this is a fully realized, insanely well played, full on rock record that might even one-up his first LP for us, last year’s excellent Nightmare Forever.

The guy’s got more chops than a beauticians’ college across a wide array of instruments - no small feat, and easily overlooked when you leave the lyric sheet and credits on the dining room table. That the songs travel far, wide, up, down, backwards, and gamely spill out over the 5 minute mark with exceptionally loose interludes and diversions is just another marvel in this carnival of aural delights. It’s a gem of a record!


Side A
1. One Eye Flees Aquapolis
2. Stubborn Bubble
3. Gregorian Chance

Side B
4. Holy Scroller
5. Preeminent Minds
6. Music Is Dead

FLEXI: 1. Overture for a Short Film